Photo: Mike Levitt / IMSA

ACO President Pierre Fillon has been named Grand Marshal for the 59th Annual Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Fillon, who was the race’s honorary starter in 2014 (pictured above with IMSA President Jim France), will give the order to start the engines on the 50-car lot scheduled for January 30 to help to kick off the next season of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. .

“I am extremely honored to have been named Grand Marshal of the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona,” Fillon said in a message on Twitter.

“Our relationship with IMSA through the creation of the LMDh regulations has strengthened endurance and promises a bright future for our discipline.

Fillon is expected to be joined by Dan Davis of Brumos Racing for the honorary role, with Davis Tab as the honorary starter of the race.

Further meetings are scheduled at Daytona between IMSA and ACO on the upcoming LMDh regulations which will also include former FIA World Endurance Championship boss Gerard Neveu, who has remained in an advisory role.

The platform, which was officially announced at Daytona last year, is on track for a full season in 2023 at both the WeatherTech Championship and the WEC.

John dagys

John dagys is the founder and editor-in-chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a Motorsport Correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsport publications around the world. Contact John

Source link